Match Reports‎ > ‎

Feile na nGael Hurling County Final: Ballinkillen v Miseal

posted 3 May 2013, 03:14 by Neil McLoughlin   [ updated 3 May 2013, 03:24 ]

(report from by Kieran Murphy) 

24th April 2013 
Liam McGuill scored two second half goals as Ballinkillen won the Feile Under-14 final in Ballon on Wednesday. He wasn’t the only player to produce some fine personal scoring feats as his team-mate, Ciaran Whelan, hit 1-4 while Naomh Eoin’s, Michael Kavanagh, registered 1-3 from frees.

It was tight at the break with Whelan’s goal proving crucial as the eventual winners led 1-3 to 0-4. However three goals in the second half gave Ballinkillen breathing space and they held out to beat a brave Myshall side.

Ballinkillen: Conor Treacy; Jack Foley, Sean Cummins, Conor Geoghegan; Eoin Kavanagh, Padraig Hynes, Niall Hickey; Ciaran Whelan (1-4 all fs), Barry Hickey (1-0); Cormac Lomax, Niall Whelan, Ciaran Dowling; Jack Treacy, Liam McGuill (2-0), Shane Nolan (0-1). Subs: Gary Tobin, Marty O’Leary, Eoin Whelan, Patrick Kavanagh, Tommy Shepherd.

Naomh Eoin: Tadgh Daly; Shane Fitzgerald, Donal Jordan, Ciaran Smithers; Ross Foley, Jamie Kavanagh, Cathal Nolan; David Nolan (0-2), Keelan Cunningham; Gavin Ruschitzke, Michael Kavanagh (1-3 all frees), Eoin Hosey; Shain Harmon, Anthony O’Sullivan, Fiac Nolan. Subs: Tommy Dunne, Zach Foley.

Referee: Tony O’Brien (Erins Own).