Match Reports‎ > ‎

U-12 Hurling League Grp 1 Rnd5: Miseal v Ballinkillen

posted 9 Jun 2013, 05:02 by Neil McLoughlin   [ updated 9 Jun 2013, 14:50 ]
Saturday 8th June 2013

This game was hard-fought from the start. Miseal's Eoin Hosey, James Smithers and Tadhg Daly kept the pressure on Ballinkillen early on, but the Ballinkillen defence managed well with some great blocking by Aaron-Lennon Corcoran with the hurl and Jack McLoughlin (with his head!). Eoin Whelan registered the only score for Ballinkillen in the first half with a point on  5 minutes. James Smithers goaled and Eoin Hosey pointed for Miseal to leave the half-time score 1-1 to 0-1 for the home team.

Fiach Nolan started the second half with a point for Miseal after 2 minutes but Paddy Kavanagh responded with a fine goal for Ballinkillen 5 minutes later to leave a single point between the teams. Jack Treacy pointed on 9 minutes to go level.
From this point on, Miseal dominated with Eoin Hosey cleaning up at mid-field and James Smither's skill and speed making him a goal threat every time he gained possession. On the 12th minute James Smithers got the result his work desrved and goaled. This was followed by points from Fiach Nolan and Ger Kavanagh. Conor Tracey had a fine display on goal for Ballinkillen and stopped at least 2 or 3 goal-bound strikes in the second half. Thomas O'Donoghue and Sean Smithers defended bravely for Ballinkillen throughout and Jack McLoughlin worked hard to limit the damage from James Smithers repeated runs at goal.

Conor Tracey was switched outfield towards the end of the game and goaled with a bullet from a close in free, but Miseal deservedly won this sporting game on a fine summer evening with a final score of 3-4 to Ballinkillen's 2-2.

Ballinkillen will need to work hard in training on their first touch, speed and support play to do better in the return fixture.

Ballinkillen: Colin Byrne, Cian Delany, Aaron Lennon-Corcoran, Thomas O'Donoghue, Patrick Kavanagh, Jack McLoughlin, Sean Smithers, Conor Tracey, Jack Treacy, Eoin Whelan

Miseal: Ciaran Abbey, Tadhg (Tiger) Daly, Diarmaid Deacon, Tommy Dunne, Zach Foley, Shiam Harmon, Eoin Hosey, Ger Kavanagh, Fiach Nolan, Michael Nolan, James Smithers, Scott Tracy