Match Reports‎ > ‎

U-12 League Division 1 Round 1: Burren Rangers v Ballinkillen

posted 6 Apr 2014, 09:56 by Neil McLoughlin   [ updated 6 Apr 2014, 13:05 ]
Saturday 5th April 2014

Burren Rangers: 02-01
Ballinkillen:         03-15

Ballinkillen got off to a good start in this game with four points in the first 15 minutes, 3 from Eric English and one from Patrick Kavanagh.
Conor Duffy reduced the margin to the minimum with a goal for Burren Rangers on 18 minutes.
Adam Tobin for Ballinkillen and Dillon Townsend for Burren Rangers then exchanged points. From there to end of the 1st half Eric English (0-2) and Jack Mcloughlin (0-1) added another three points for Ballinkillen without reply to leave the half-time score at: Burren Rangers 1-1 Ballinkillen 0-8.

Burren Rangers pressurised the Ballinkillen defence early in the second half. Only some desperate, last-ditch defending from Donal Quirke, Eoin Cummins and Eoin Whelan denied Burren Rangers an early second-half goal. Darragh O'Donoghue put that right later on with a fine goal from play for Burren Rangers.
The visitors continued to pick off scores with 2 goals from Eric English and one from Adam Tobin. Jack McLoughlin (0-3), Patrick Kavanagh (0-3) and Eoin Whelan (0-1, 25m) increased Ballinkillen's advantage from there until the end of the game.

The Burren Rangers goal keeper Stephen Carroll? made some outstanding saves and delivered strong puck-outs throughout the game. Darragh O'Donoghue and Dillon Townsend also stood out for the home team.
Eoin Cummins in defence and Adam Tobin in attack put in committed performances for Ballinkillen. Eric English had another impressive day in the forwards.

Burren Rangers:
Stephen Carroll, Cian Byrne, Dillon Townsend (0-1), Oisin Hutton, Conor Bolger, John Buckley, Lorcan Doyle, Conor Duffy (1-0), Ted Kelly, Callum Fisher, Darragh O'Donoghue (1-0)

Donal Quirke, Eamonn Normanly, Eoin Whelan (0-1, 25m), Eoin Cummins, Kevin Kavanagh, Patrick Kavanagh (0-4), Jack McLoughlin (0-3), Eric English (2-5), Adam Tobin (1-1), Tom Connors, Judson Ferreira, Darragh Cummins.