Match Reports‎ > ‎

U-14 Hurling Championship Div1 Rnd2: Ballinkillen v MLR

posted 10 May 2015, 12:42 by Ballinkillen Gaa
Ballinkillen 1-4  MLR 2-6

Sat 9th May 2015

Rangers got off to strong start, scoring 1-2 in the first 10 minutes of this game (1-1 for Ciaran M. Kavanagh and 0-1 for Barry Coady). The home side´s defence, led by Sean Smithers at full-back, got to grips with the MLR danger men after that to hold the visitors scoreless for the remainder of the half. Ballinkillen got no change from a solid MLR defence marshalled by Michael O´Neill and Dean Tobin despite the best efforts of Louis Brennan at midfield and Eoin Whelan at full forward.

The second half saw Ballinkillen mount a much stronger challenge, matching the visitors score of 1-4, Rangers´ second goal from Ciaran (M.) Kavanagh probably proving to be the decisive score of the game.

Ballinkillen: Conor Tracey, Thomas O´Donoghue, Sean Smithers, James Cummins, Pat Hickey, Jack McLoughlin, Patrick Kavanagh, Louis Brennan (0-1), Jack Treacy, Richard Byrne, Mark Foley (1-0), Eamonn Normanly, Aaron Lennon-Corcoran, Eoin Whelan (0-3, 2f), Kevin Sheppard, Donnacha Murphy, Cian Delaney, Kevin Kavanagh, Moar Uisce: Niall Hickey, Maor Camain: Colin Byrne

MLR: Ben Bolger, Aidan O´Loughlin, Michael O´Neill, Michael Joyce, Ben Coleman, Dean Tobin, Liam Lawlor, Pauric Coleman, Tadhg Doran, Fiachra Fitzpatrick, Barry Coady (0-1), Sean Joyce, Ciaran Kavanagh, Ciaran M. Kavanagh (2-5), Jordan Brennan, Imran Kelly, Cian Walsh, Fionn Murphy, Joe Dundon, Stephen Lawlor, Evan Kealy, Robert John Stafford.