Match Reports‎ > ‎

U-14 Hurling Championship Division 1 Round 3: Ballinkillen v Muinebheag

posted 12 May 2015, 07:04 by Ballinkillen Gaa   [ updated 17 Feb 2016, 14:25 ]
Ballinkillen 3-11  Muinebheag 0-06

11th May 2015

Ballinkillen got off to an ideal start in this game with an early goal from the flying Mark Foley. Richie Whelan answered with a point from play 3 minutes later. The score of the game followed for the home side as Sean Smithers collected at full back, motored to the other square and pointed over the black spot - one to remember for all present. An Eoin Whelan free and a point from Jack Treacy left the home side ahead 1-3 to 0-1 after 20 minutes. Richie Whelan pulled one back for the town and Cian Delaney slotted a point from a tight angle on the left to leave it 1-4 to 0-2 at the break.

Patrick Kavanagh goaled for Ballinkillen early in the second half. This was followed by a dominant spell for Bagenalstown with Richie Whelan scoring 3 more points in 3 successive minutes and very unlucky not to goal with at least one of those attempts. Eoin Whelan replied with 3 pointed frees before Richie pointed again. Ballinkillen closed out the game with points from Louis Brennan, Jack Treacy and Eoin Whelan (0-2, 1f) and a goal from Eamonn Normanly. Outstanding for Muinebheag were goalkeeper Jake Doyle who made some fine saves from close range, the full back line of Colm Meaney, Niall Bolger and Tadgh Holland as well as Michael Mullins and Richie Whelan. James Cummins, Pat Hickey and Jack McLoughlin worked hard for Ballinkillen throughout.

Ballinkillen: Conor Tracey, Thomas O´Donoghue, Sean Smithers (0-1), Aaron Lennon-Corcoran, Patrick Kavanagh (1-0), Jack McLoughlin, James Cummins, Jack Treacy (0-2), Louis Brennan (0-1), Richard Byrne, Mark Foley (1-0), Cian Delaney (0-1), Kevin Sheppard, Eoin Whelan(0-6, 5f), Pat Hickey, Eamonn Normanly (1-0), Stephen Carroll, Donnacha Murphy, Kevin Kavanagh, Eric English, Donal Quirke, Judson Ferreira,  Maor Uisce: Colin Byrne

Muinebheag: Jake Doyle, Colm Meaney, Niall Bolger, Tadgh Holland, Keelan Guidera, Eoghan Dowling, Michael Mullins, Padraig MacDonaill, Jack McCullagh, Jason Wall, Nathan Holden, Daragh Nolan, Adam O´Riordan, Richie Whelan (0-6), Brian McCawley, Kuba Budzeiz, Steven Lawless, Jake O´Neill, Eoin Murphy, TJ Murphy, Shane Cody.