Match Results‎ > ‎Club News‎ > ‎

Ballinkllen HC - Feile na nGael Division 3 Shield Winners 2016

posted 20 Jun 2016, 05:48 by Ballinkillen Gaa   [ updated 20 Jun 2016, 09:24 ]
Eoin Whelan receives the Division 3 Shield on behalf of his teammates and Ballinkillen HC

After Final v Mount Sion

More Photos here (thanks to Mike Redmond)

Congratulations to our U-14's on their magnificent achievement at the 2016 Feile na nGael finals, bringing home the Division 3 Shield Trophy after 190 minutes of competitive hurling over 44hrs, beating Buffers Alley & Mount Sion on the way.

Ballinkillen Feile Panel 2016:

Adam Farrell
Donnacha Murphy
Jack McLoughlin        (0-02)
David Murphy
Eamonn Normanly
Pat Hickey
Liam Nolan
Louis Brennan          (6-30 TBC)
Patrick Kavanagh     (0-02)
Kevin Kavanagh
Eoin Whelan            (3-38 TBC)
Padraig Nolan          (1-00)
Eric English              (0-04)
Adam Tobin
Donal Quirke           (2-01)
Shane Kelly              (0-01)
Darragh Cummins
Adam Ryan
Conor Meaney
Tomas Kearney        (1-00)
Judson Ferreira        (1-00)  

[The scores above include the qualifier stage in Carlow and the Feile Finals games in Tipp]


Carlow Feile na nGael Qualifiers:

24th April Feile na nGael Qualifier QF:         Naomh Eoin 1-07     Ballinkillen 2-06

Donal Quirke     1-0
Eoin Whelan      0-05
Judson Ferreira    1-00
Louis Brennan     0-01

24th April Feile na nGael Qualifier SF:         MLR 0-03          Ballinkillen 0-10

Eoin Whelan    0-06
Louis Brennan    0-04

25th April Feile na nGael Qualifier Final:     Muinebheag 0-00      Ballinkillen 0-06

Eoin Whelan    0-04
Louis Brennan    0-02

Feile na nGael Finals

19th June Feile na nGael Finals Div3 GrpB Rnd1:     Ballinkillen 2-03     Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams (TIPP) 2-08

Eoin Whelan    1-03
Louis Brennan    1-02

19th June Feile na nGael Finals Div3 GrpB Rnd2:     Piltown(KK) 1-08     Ballinkillen 1-05

Eoin Whelan    0-05
Louis Brennan    1-03

20th June Feile na nGael Finals Div3 GrpB Rnd3:     Cahir(TIPP) 0-02     Ballinkillen 3-13

Louis Brennan        2-06
Patrick Kavanagh    0-01
Jack McLoughlin        0-02
Shane Kelly        0-01
Eric English        0-04
Padraig Nolan        1-00

20th June Feile na nGael Finals Div3 Shield QF:     Ballinkillen 2-11     Buffers Alley(WX) 1-04

Donal Quirke     1-00
Eoin Whelan      1-06
Louis Brennan     0-05

20th June Feile na nGael Finals Div3 Shield SF:     Ballinkillen 3-02     Westport(MO) 0-02

Donal Quirke     1-00
Eoin Whelan      1-00
Tomas Kearney    1-00
Louis Brennan     0-02

21st June Feile na nGael Finals Div3 Shield Final: Mount Sion(W) 3-07    Ballinkillen 2-11

Eoin Whelan        0-08
Louis Brennan        2-02
Patrick Kavanagh     0-01

The Ballinkillen team was driven on in attack by Eoin Whelan and Louis Brennan, marshaled in defence by Jack McLoughlin and Pat Hickey with Patrick Kavanagh and Eamonn Normanly doing savage work around the middle. Every player on the panel played their part and contributed to some outstanding team displays during the Feile competition.

Thanks to our players, their parents, our community and sponsors, Ballinkillen Hurling and Camogie club members, for the massive support that made our Feile na nGael journey possible.
Thanks to our hosts, Cahir GAA club, for their hospitality over the Feile na nGael weekend and for all involved in the organisation of the 2016 Feile na nGael competitions.

Special thanks to

- Michael Kavanagh, Richie Ryan, Roy Kavanagh, Mike Redmond, Tony Meaney, Eileen Farrell for the massive work put into the fundraising effort and logistics

- Michael O'Brien, Dinny Murphy and Fenagh Juvenile GFC

- Our sponsors:
    P Farrell Transport LTD, Debcon Construction, Regent Flooring & Furniture, Glendon's Bar, JR Tyres, Walsh's Hardware, Carlow Craft Brewery LTD,
    Country Tiles, Corrigan's Garage, Hughes Coal Yard ,Barrow Training, Joe Conroy Garage, GRT Hire, Bagenalstown Credit Union, Carlow Radiators,
    Kilcarrig Quarries, Rea Communication, Bagenalstown Pharmacy, New Image Hair Salon, Care Plus Pharmacy, AM Farm Supplies, Spruhan Buses,
    Cllr Tommy Kinsella, Glanbia, Burnside Eurocyl LTD, Ballinkillen Senior Hurling Club

- Dennis Brennan and M.J. Farrell for transport above and beyond the call...

- John Hickey and Seamus O'Neill for looking after us during the monsoon season

- Patrick Murphy, Brendan Fitzgerald, Graiguenamanagh GAA, Young Irelands, Barrow Rangers, Naomh Eoin for their help with challenge games and fixtures

- Patrick Minchin, Tommy Kinsella and John Whelan and Hurling Club members for their support

- Sean Minchin and the Senior Hurling Panel for help with training and their generosity to the U-14 squad.

- Brendan Leen, Jenny and Pat English

- Mick Kehoe, Brendan Hayden and Ronan Dempsey for their work with our county players and the training session Mick ran for us before the Feile finals