Match Results‎ > ‎Club News‎ > ‎

Minor Hurlers are 2017 Champions

posted 28 Nov 2017, 05:04 by Neil McLoughlin   [ updated 28 Nov 2017, 05:07 by Ballinkillen Gaa ]
Ballinkillen Minor Hurlers had a magnificent win over Mount Leinster Rangers in the County Final on Saturday 4th November. The foundation for this victory was built on an exceptional first half performance. Aided by a strong breeze and playing with great flair and team work, Ballinkillen had a nine point lead at half time. Some of their point scoring was of the highest order. Half time Ballinkillen 0-11 to MLR 0-2. Against the wind in the second half Ballinkillen effectively closed down the game never allowing a valiant MLR to make any significant inroads into their lead. Every ball was fought for with intensity and passion. A late goal for MLR proved only to be a consolation. Ballinkillen deservedly won their fifth minor title on a score line of Ballinkillen 0-15  MLR 1-7. Many of these players were also on the Fenagh Minor Football Championship winning team and some played on the under 16 double (hurling and Football) Championship winning teams, a truly remarkable feat.
Ballinkillen Hurlers last won the Minor title in 2009.